World Champion Cubs | Chicago Cubs & Wrigley Field Fan Site
Chicago Cubs 2016 World Series Champions





Chicago Cubs 2016 World Series Champions
Chicago Cubs 2016 NL Central Championship Gear





Chicago Cubs 2016 NL Central Championship Gear

World Champion Cubs

is a fan site dedicated to the Chicago Cubs, their championship teams of the past, and their 100+ year effort to bring a World Series title to Wrigley Field.*

Chicago Cubs 2016 NL Central Championship Gear

2016: It Happened! Cubs are World Champions!

In October 2016 the Cubs finished the regular season with 103 wins—the best record in the league—and took the Central Division Title. They appeared in the NLCS for the second straight year, and beat the Los Angeles Dodgers to win the National League Pennant for the first time in 71 years!

This was the first time that most Cubs fans were able to watch their team move on to the World Series, and it did not disappoint. The drama was heightened by the fact that they met the Cleveland Indians in the Series—the team with the second-longest active title drought (1948).

The first four games of the Series looked grim. The Cubs had their backs against the wall, down 3 games to 1, and with the last two games in Cleveland. But this young team dug deep, against some tough pitching by Cleveland, and squeaked out Game 7, 8-7, in 10 innings. It really doesn't get any more dramatic than that. And after 108 years without a title, the Cubs are finally World Champs again!


The parade and ceremony held in Chicago after the World Series win was estimated to have more than 5 million people in attendance, which would make it the 7th largest human gathering in history. What a way to welcome them home!

Cubs Team Titles

  • 3 World Championships: 1907, 1908, 2016
  • 16 League Titles / Pennants: 1876, 1880-1882, 1885-1886, 1906-1908, 1910, 1918, 1929, 1932, 1935, 1938, 1945, 2016
  • 4 Central Division Titles: 2003, 2007, 2008, 2016
  • 2 East Division Titles: 1984, 1989
  • 2 Wild Card Appearances: 1998, 2015

In their 10 post-season appearances from 1906 to 1945, the Cubs made it to the World Series every time - but won only twice. Before 2016, they had not won the World Series since 1908, or played in a World Series since 1945.

The Playoff Counter & "Eamus Catuli!"

Fans waiting for the Cubs' next World Series appearance were reminded of the Cubs' long-term playoff drought every time they looked across Sheffield Avenue, behind Wrigley Field's right field bleachers. A playoff counter showed the number of years since they reached each of the post-season milestones listed above (image from 2014):

Cubs Playoff Counter

AC - ("Anno Catuli," or "In the Year of the Cubs.")
05 - number of years since the Cubs' last Division Championship (2008)
68 - number of years since the Cubs' last Pennant (1945)
105 - number of years since the Cubs' last World Series title (1908)

The counter was reset to AC000000 after the 2016 Championship.

To the left of the counter, on the same building, you will see the phrase "Eamus Catuli!" This roughly translates from Latin as "Let's Go Cubs!" (Catuli translates to "whelps", the nearest Latin equivalent of a cub).

The Curse of the Billy Goat

One of the many excuses offered for why the Cubs had failed to claim a World Series title for more than a century was the famed "Curse of the Billy Goat."

As legend has it, Greek immigrant Billy Sianis (then-owner of the nearby Billy Goat Tavern, of SNL "cheezborger cheezborger / no pepsi, coke" fame) had tickets to game 4 of the 1945 World Series against the Detroit Tigers at Wrigley Field. Sianis' companion for the game was...a goat...wearing a sign that read "We've got Detroit's goat." Sianis and his goat were admitted into the game, but were later ejected due to the goat's foul odor. Sianis, angry at being ejected, placed a curse on the Cubs, claiming they would never play in another World Series. Sianis died in 1970, but the curse apparently lived on, as the Cubs spent the next 71 years trying to get back to the World Series.

World Series Title Drought

The Cubs' 108-year title drought (1908-2016) was the longest in MLB history.

Second on the all-time list is the Chicago White Sox, who ended their 88-year drought (1917-2005) with a World Series title in 2005. What's up with Chicago baseball?

Third is the Boston Red Sox who went 86 years (1918-2004) before they broke their own "Curse of the Bambino."

Since the Cubs 2016 win, the longest active title drought is now held by the Cleveland Indians, who have gone 68 years (1948) without a title. (No small irony, since the 2016 Championship came at their expense...)

Hall of Famers

The National Baseball Hall of Fame recognizes 45 Hall of Fame players, managers and executives related to the Cubs organization, dating back to the 1800's, when the team was still searching for its name. Before the Cubs became the Cubs, they were first named the White Stockings. (Sound familiar? This name was eventually adopted by Chicago's American League team.) Later they became the Colts, under the leadership of player/manager and Hall of Famer Adrian "Cap" Anson. And for a few forgettable seasons after losing Cap's leadership, they were actually referred to as the Chicago Orphans(!). They didn't become the Chicago Cubs until 1902, but the Hall of Fame recognizes inductees under all of these early team names to be part of the Cubs' storied history.

Some of the most memorable names on the Cub's Hall of Fame list include Ernie Banks, Andre Dawson, Leo Durocher, Dennis Eckersley, Ryne Sandberg and Billy Williams.

Retired Numbers

The Cubs have retired the numbers of six former players, who are all commemorated on pinstriped flags that fly from the foul poles at Wrigley Field:

  • Ron Santo (#10)
  • Ernie Banks (#14)
  • Ryne Sandberg (#23)
  • Billy Williams (#26)
  • Fergie Jenkins (the original #31)
  • Greg Maddux (also #31...)

Of note: Jackie Robinson's number (42) was retired by Major League Baseball for ALL MLB clubs, although Robinson's number is not commemorated on a flag at Wrigley Field.

Ron Santo

Cubs fans were sad to hear of the passing of Ron Santo in December of 2010.

Santo was a nine-time All-Star who won five Gold Gloves as a power-hitting third baseman for the Cubs from 1960-1973. His career as a player ended in 1974, but he remained an active Cubs supporter and enthusiast, often referred to as the biggest Cubs fan of all time. He was a radio announcer for the Cubs from 1990 until his passing from diabetes-related complications in 2010, and was much beloved by both players and fans spanning many generations.

Santo and his fans dreamed about seeing three events before his passing: the Cubs retiring his number (#10), which happened in 2003; his induction into the Hall of Fame, which didn't happen until 2012, two years after his death; and a Cubs World Series victory, which finally happened in 2016.

Chicago Cubs Links

For more Cubs-related information, please visit: